Latest Art

Here is my latest art project. I wanted to make a body of work that deals with dyslexia. Being dyslexic, there have been many times in my life when I’ve struggled to learn something new. There are times when you have to work twice as hard just to get an average grade. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized that you can learn to deal with it- and you have to find inventive ways to overcome it. The animation below deals with how I’ve felt over the years coping with dyslexia. I hope you enjoy. πŸ™‚
❀ H

Find our more about Dyslexia :HERE

Comments
22 Responses to “Latest Art”
  1. Madison says:

    You’re amazing Heidi! I love your work… The renderings are so powerful even though it looks simple (I know it’s not, I have many friends who are animators) I always appreciate this type of work every time I watch a reel or two) πŸ™‚ I love how you took something so personal & shared it with the world. Nicely done!

    • Thanks so much! I wanted to deal with something that is close to my heart. I went online and read all sorts of letters by kids who are dyslexic and some of their words really touched me (others broke my heart). So, I wanted to let others know that they are not alone. Animation takes soo long- Hats off to your friends who are animators!! ❀ H

  2. As always, I’m blown away by your talent. The animation was cute, but so so sad! Thank you for sharing it with us.

    The-Loudmouth.com
    Twitter @theloudermouth
    Birthday Blog Event

  3. Sarah H. says:

    This is amazing! You are very talented!

  4. B.J. says:

    Heidi you are extremely talented! I had no idea you did animation. But I totally understand the theme and how you relate to it.

    -xo
    Bobbie

  5. Anika says:

    Oh sweetheart, I am so moved by your post. Your artwork says it all. One of my siblings is struggeling to overcome dyslexia, and in my work I am trying my best to support pupils to overcome and embrace their challenges (I am a councelour with a masters in special needs ed). Thank you so much for sharing, you have such beauty in you and I love how that comes through in your art.

    x Anika
    http://byanika.com
    @AnikaByAnika

    • Anika, thank you so much! What you have said is so moving. Tell your sibling that they’re not alone- I met a woman at my university who told me her son is dyslexic and he had a rough time in school -she said that he has a great job and is making a really good living because he learned when he was young that he had to be a hard worker. So there is a positive side to it as well. Also, with technology, we are living in a much more visual world and I think that helps a lot (Youtube is a lifesaver for me-haha).
      Thanks you so much. x
      Heidi

  6. Wow, beautiful drawings – you’re so talented! I really like the cartoon you put together.

  7. This is absolutely amazing. You are amazing.

  8. You are talented in the extreme hon! I am so happy to know you. You’re artwork has touched me deeply! And I think the fact that you have learned to cope with dyslexia makes you ten time more special, and you are counted among the many amazingly talented people who have over come it. Picasso, Da Vinci, John Lennon, Florence of the amazing band Florence and the Machine, and Heidi Hastings!

    ❀ you hon!

    • Thank you soo much! You are so wonderful. It gave me a smile to se my name amongst the list of fantastic people. I had no idea that Florence was dyslexic (or John Lennon). You are so great!!! Thanks so much. Loves and hugs, H

  9. B says:

    Very nice indeed.

  10. bc says:

    I’ve just lately started a blog, the knowledge you present on this web site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  11. Laura says:

    Hey – good weblog, simply trying around some blogs, appears a fairly good platform You Are using.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] The Art Of Dyslexia………via Heidi Hastings […]

  2. […] The Art Of Dyslexia………via Heidi Hastings […]



Leave a Reply

  • wordpress hit
counter
