Dreams and Nightmares

Sketch and Digital Painting By: Heidi Hastings


I am super sorry I’ve been neglecting my blog!!! I have been sooo busy with my advanced drawing class. I think I just finished the first piece from my “Dreams and Nightmares” series. I love dreams, and the mystery behind why we dream. This is a digital painting which has taken over a week to draw and paint. I’m not kidding when I say I spend every waking moment on this image- I even stay up during the night to work on it. The series is due in class on February 3rd (and I have two more works to make!!!!!). Stressssss! Ok, So that’s why I’ve been a little quiet on my blog (which I miss I might add). I also included the original idea sketch from my sketchbook (if you’d like to see how a work of art begins).
What are some of your dreams or nightmares?
Love to all you lovelies– and back to work!
The busy digi painter!
๐Ÿ™‚

Comments
12 Responses to “Dreams and Nightmares”
  1. Michaล‚ Czernow says:

    Pretty awesome! Finishing it must’ve been very satisfying – all that work that led towards impressive finale. I like very much this gradual lighting you created.

  2. Oh my gosh, you drew this??? It is absolutely stunning. You are so talented, Heidi.

    • Yes, I drew it in Photoshop with a WACOM tablet. It turned out nice (if I do say so myself). hope my teacher feels the same way. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love it that she’s letting me draw in Photoshop. Thaaannnkkkksss ssooo muchhh!! โค H

  3. This is amazing. I love your drawings and it was totally worth the time you spent.

    I have the weirdest dreams. I once dreamt my boss was a serial killer and had a cupboard full of body parts. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh my gosh!! That sounds like a scary dream-That would be one of those dreams where I want to hide my head under the covers after I wake up!!!!! Thank you so much (it was worth the time)!

  4. brookemeagan says:

    This is so gorgeous and you should be so proud. The image is hauntingly beautiful. I have a total fascination with dreams as well and you completely captured the mystery behind them. I feel inspired! I’ve been following you since discovering you on Kristy’s Full Time Fabulous blog and just wanted to finally stop by and say how amazingly talented I think you are. And totally gorgeous to boot! Happy weekend. xx

    • Thanks you sooo much!!! This is sooo nice- I am soo flattered!! I am so glad you found me off Kristy’s blog (she is such a great person- I was so happy she featured me on her blog!!). Haha This comment has made my day. Hugs and many thanks my dear! Heidi ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. It’s quite erethral and pretty. I really like the golden globes. They globes add to the painting as well as balance out the painting and make it more interesting to look at. Rather sci-fi-ish.

    • Thanks very much! Yes I suppose it is a little Sci Fi- Now that I think about it the dream was quite surreal/ out of this world. I’m very happy that you think the golden balls balance out the image. Thanks and โค

  6. Ohhhhhhh!!!!! you get your ‘Calcius’…

Leave a Reply

  • wordpress hit
counter
