The Interpretation of Dreams

Photos By: Heidi Hastings
So I’m working on a series of portraits dealing with Freuds “Interpretation of Dreams.” Dreams fascinate me. Are they links into our unconscious? Well, why not?!?! In dreams we can do impossible things -Flying dreams are…the…BEST!! Even nightmares can be entertaining when you share them with your friends. What makes us want to tell our “night movies” to our relatives,or friends, even teachers?!?! is it because it’s our chance to live the impossible…or is it because we get to step into our own movie and live it? I don’t know, but whatever it is I hope that you lovelies have a great night and dream wonderful dreams!
H

This is a picture I took of my bedroom- Then I took a photo of myself and inserted me into the room with Photoshop. This is pretty much how my dream looked. I always dream that my bedroom is upside down (hmmm…what is the meaning of that-I’m sure it’s not good). Please feel free and tell my your wackiest dream. I’d love to hear about it.

Here is a great video I found about dreaming!

Comments
6 Responses to “The Interpretation of Dreams”
  1. jennyK says:

    Five years ago i had a dream that i was walking down the sidewalks of New York hand in hand with Mr.K. We had been dating for 6 years at that time. Suddenly in my dream, I ran into my high school boyfriend. He stopped me in the middle of the sidewalk, got down on one knee, pulled out a ring, and asked me to marry him. I held tight to Mr.K and said that I was flattered, but I was in love with my boyfriend.
    We walked a little further and my college boyfriend ran up to me with flowers, wearing a tux and holding a ring. he got down on one knee and asked me to marry him. I said that I was in love with my boyfriend, and I squeezed Mr.K’s hand tight as I said, thank you, but, no.
    We crossed the street and walked a few more blocks when a beautiful missed opportunity of a man walked up to me and offered me the wonders of the world if i would only marry him…
    This went on and on…
    The next day I told Mr.K about my “crazy” dream.
    We’ve been married for four years.
    🙂

    • This is so sweet! Sometimes I think dreams try to tell us things (and send little messages). I think there is much we can learn from dreams. I’m really happy that yours became a reality. I wish there was a way to bottle up dreams and store them..or record them so I could watch them. In the video posted below (video 5) they mention something about how if you say out loud what you want to dream (before you go to bed) there is a 50% chance that you might dream it. I’m going to test that out tonight. I really want to have a flying dream. Once I dreamt that I had these magnificent wings and I was holding a sword – I was battling these creatures (the sky was golden) it was an intense dream but visually stunning. Dream well Jen! Love

  2. For Emily says:

    Sorry if this is a faux-pas, but I’m new to this wordpress thing and was looking around at blogs that matched the tag dreams and figured I’d share my blog. It’s at http://foremily.wordpress.com. The “Why” page explains the premise, but it’s composed almost entirely of my dreams, particularly with the interest of one particular recurring character which brings me great happiness. I’m a strong believer in connecting with our dreams so I hope you do as well!

    • Hello For Emily,
      What an interesting blog! Sounds like something from a movie :-). Yes I am a huge believer in connecting with our dreams. I can still recall childhood ones. I actually had a great dream last night (I was on a beach-it was lovely)! Anyway, I hope you continue to see Emily …I think you will 🙂 . I don’t know if I missed it but how did Em first appear/show up in your dream (1st time you met her)–if you don’t mind sharing that is? Thanks for reading my blog!
      Cheers
      H

      • For Emily says:

        I think the first time I met Emily she was a maid at a hotel. I can’t remember the dream very well because it was over a year ago and I didn’t realise the significance yet but I’m pretty sure she introduced her name as Emily. We met by accident and she led me on a chase, laughing all the time. I think the important thing to mention is that she never looks the same/has the same name but I always know it’s her. I have that with some other dream characters too. Like I know it’s someone from real life but it doesn’t look like them, or some character I’ve met before comes back but doesn’t look anything like how I remember. Dreams are so good!

      • Hmm… strange whenever I dream of someone chasing me it’s a monster…or something evil. Really interesting that you are seeking out the person that is doing the chasing. Cool that she never looks the same (maybe you’re waiting to find “Emily” in reality- which will make the vision of her more concrete). Gosh, aren’t dreams great. Continue dreaming and writing on your blog. Very interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

  • wordpress hit
counter
